Cents of Style

Yes I know super clever, Cents of Style! Is it important in the lesbian community? I know it is in the gay community, but is it for us ladies? How so?! In the gay community either you’re fabulous or you’re not and there are some misconceptions about how the lesbians in the world dress.

A lot of people associate flannels and mullets with lesbians, and of course that is not always the case. Also styles vary from femme’s to stud’s. So how important is it that lesbians have a sense of style?

What do clothes say about us as a sub culture? My wifey likes to wear male, urban wear like Akademics and brands like that whereas I like to wear jeans and t-shirts. Have you ever judged someone lese because of the clothes they were wearing? Have you ever not dated someone because of their sense of style?

This is the place to be honest ladies, tell me your thoughts on your partners clothing and style, tell me what styles really melt your butter, or tell me what you would never wear.

Speaking of style, there is a new t-shirt store online that caters to the GLBT and supporting communities, it’s called Out or Where? Designs, they have designs to choose from as well as an option to create your own.  Check them out!

2 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for letting your readers know about our new online t-shirt company! VERY much appreciated! We add new designs every week, and you can vote on them and even Facebook ‘like’ them right from the website! Cheers to you and yours!

    The Team at Out Or Where? Designs

  2. I think a little butch can be hot but I prefer less male clothing on my wife, who is a self-proclaimed “Chapstick lesbian”. I can be pretty femme. When I was single I got a lot of snubs from the lesbian community of Dallas for being femme because they thought I was straight. I don’t blame them though, straight girls are trouble. I couldn’t get a date to save my life because of how I dressed. There were even some women I was interested in who tried to change me and that wasn’t cool. It’s ok to be femme, and my wife likes it so I stay true to myself.

All opinions and questions welcome!

