Let’s Just Get It Over With! We’re Not Going to Bed Angry!

Fighting is horrible, especially when two people believe they are right and never wrong. What’s worse is the fact that somebody is usually wrong and that is what starts a fight in the first place. What I hate the most about fighting is that it’s stupid. One person always gets the win and the other is always crying and pissed off. Sometimes relationships get to a point where a simple conversation can turn into a major fight just to hurt one another. Has that ever happened to you? How do you deal with these fights?

And fighting is horrible yes, but getting back to the okay plateau of not fighting is very difficult. It seems like two people can become accustomed to fighting and be okay with treating each other like crap. Why is it easier to be mad than happy, especially when you know you love the other person?

Going to bed angry is one of my pet peeve’s, but also something that I frequently do. I hate it and I try to get over it before slumber time, but sometimes it is hard. When the fights come later in the evening and bed-time is right around the corner, what else can you do? How can you avoid going to bed angry?

How do you make up and stay made up for a while? Not just a few minutes? How can you make things right and become the couple that can get over anything? When do you reach that point in a relationship?

Share  your thoughts!

1 Comment

  1. Didn’t Lucille Ball say, “Never go to bed angry. Stay up and fight!”?

    Despite everything my partner and I have been through, we don’t fight very often. When we do, I think we both wind up really hating ourselves at some point, because we realize we’ve been so wrapped up in ego and blame that we’ve taken our eyes off the relationship–a relationship we treasure. Lately, when I find myself getting cheesed off with her, I just say this little, helpful version of the serenity prayer:

    Grant me the serenity to accept the person I cannot change,
    the courage to change the person I can,
    and the wisdom to know that BOTH OF THEM ARE ME.

    Peace to all! And to all a good fight!

All opinions and questions welcome!

