Nobody puts baby in the corner.

Baby talk has taken over my life, I believe now, that my girlfriend and I have taken that step in order to become parents. I guess it’s a dame good thing because I have had four positive pregnancy tests. Granted the lines were faint they were there. I am trying not to get too excited and emotional about it until I get 100% confirmation from a doctor, which will happen tomorrow. But there are many thoughts running through my mind.

Will I be a good parent? Will my baby have what she needs? Can I provide wholly for another life? These are very deep feelings and I realize that I can’t put this baby in the corner. I’m okay with this, because since we inseminated, the only thing I can think about is how bad I want this. I want this for me AND for my partner. I believe it is very important to want something so life-changing for yourself first and then others. Some people have babies for the wrong reasons and then they are left alone and surprised that they are alone raising a child. I don’t want to be that woman. I know what motherhood entails and I am willing to sacrifice what is needed to keep my baby first priority.

If you are a lesbian, do you have kids? How did you have kids: the old-fashioned way, insemination or adoption? Are you with the same partner that you had the children with? How do you like motherhood? Tell me your stories, I think maybe I need some personal accounts from my readers in order to grasp this huge experience that I am going through! Share your stories and opinions, it’s for a great cause…my sanity!

 

2 Comments

  1. Congratulations!!! I can understand your excitement and anxiety.

    My partner of four years brought two daughters with her. They moved here two years ago from Great Britain. I’d never had an experience with parenting, so it’s been quite a journey for all four of us.

    Our kids are now 10 and 13. All I can say is that it is an awesome responsibility. It’s heartbreaking and heartwarming all the time.

    Obviously, as a “step” parent who has come into the girls’ lives much later than birth, my own parenting issues and their experience with me are far different from what you and your partner are about to experience.

    But let me know if I can shed some light on anything!

    Again, congratulations… and fasten that seatbelt, it’s about to get bumpy!!!

All opinions and questions welcome!

