Chatting it up.

When do you think it is time to get professional help? How much can your friends handle before they just say, ” You’re crazy!” ? Should something inside of you click, to where you would just tell yourself, I need a professional opinion? What if you do go to a therapist and they don’t give you the feedback you want, what do you do then? How do you handle something like that?

The reason I ask is because in my past, I have been to see a therapist and I thought it was effective at that time. It gave me a place to vent, when I had used up all of my bitching coupons with the family and friends I had left, (the situation was bad, therefore exhausting all of my contacts in the real world). The person I had went to see was actually pretty decent, I didn’t feel like he judged me or thought I was crazy, even though at times I did feel that way. To make a long story short, before he transferred to another place, he said that we had made progress. I don’t know if that is necessarily true. I mean, we did talk about a lot of things and he let me cry and vent how I needed to, but in the end I don’t think I felt any differently, so I wonder how it was that we progressed.

Also, recently, I received an email from a young lady who wanted to know if I knew any therapist who she could talk to because the ones’ she had spoke with up to this point told her that her feelings for women were unnatural, and that sex should be for reproductive purposes only between a man and a woman. Now, as old school as that may sound, there are people out there who still think that way. I mean just look at our government and religious outlets. Some people are so behind the times.

Do you know any good therapists that are local to your area?Or any GLBT therapists?

Mz. Pink

All opinions and questions welcome!

